Last week’s theme was completely accidental. I went in knowing for certain that I wanted to talk about my newly beloved Sister Rosetta, but the ‘Inspiring Women’ business was entirely spontaneous – I guess I was touched by her badassness and it all snowballed from there…

However it turned out pretty damn topical, as, sandwiched between this week’s post and last, was International Women’s Day (March 8th). So I figured I would keep the ball rolling this week and create a playlist for you guys, which celebrates a few of my favourite women in music.

Before I sign off, however, I should say that I feel a little bit like a hypocrite. It frustrates me when platforms like this, or radio stations, films, etc. dedicate one special day or film to women, but fail to try and change the male dominated status quo on the other 364 days of the year. I’m not necessarily calling for an end to the single-day celebration of women, however it must no longer be used as a way for companies (and the like) to congratulate themselves briefly and then wash their hands of the issue of equality.

I think it’s important to celebrate our musical women so that’s why I’m going ahead with this playlist, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to neglect my girls in the future. I want to make that very clear. Girls will always take their place at the front.

Women Cover

Leave a Reply

